News

WhatsApp’s New Privacy Policy shares Data with Facebook

Everyone is receiving a pop-up notification regarding the new WhatsApp Privacy Policy update. Whether it is Android or iOS, the Facebook-owned company is forcing all its users to mandatory accept their terms and conditions.

In this new WhatsApp privacy policy, users are requested to accept the terms until 8th February 2021. If you do not accept these terms and conditions, then you’ll not be able to access your WhatsApp account.

This news has caused a lot of concern amongst the users. People have started to delete WhatsApp accounts and look for an alternative. Besides, the data sharing with Facebook has caused a major disappointment.

WhatsApp Privacy Policy Update 2021

WhatsApp New Privacy Policy will share your data with Facebook

According to this privacy policy, WhatsApp has introduced three key updates. To be specific, the company will decide on how to process your data. Furthermore, WhatsApp will share your information with its family of companies, especially Facebook.

The company claims it as a way to improve the service and integrate the activities. However, WhatsApp’s data sharing on Facebook seems quite risky and doubtful. But what exactly is this data sharing? Will WhatsApp share my messages on Facebook?

The basic information that WhatsApp will share with Facebook includes your mobile number, account name, profile photo, status, and about section. As far as the chats are concerned, the company officially announced that your messages are encrypted.

Related: WhatsApp adds Carts Feature to make Shopping Easier

Every personal WhatsApp chat is end-to-end encrypted. That means no third-party application can read or decrypt the message. Moreover, the privacy policy will also share your mobile network, device IP address, and location information.

Facebook and its third-party apps will use your data. They will then suggest and customize a few features on your account. On the other hand, the company will help you during purchases and transactions on the WhatsApp business account.

Additionally, you’ll also see some relevant Ads and offers as per your recent searches on the internet. You will not see Ads on WhatsApp but on the other products of the company. Some of the products include Facebook, Messenger, Instagram, and Oculus, etc.

In an official statement, Facebook announced that they will not share messages, videos, photos, or any account information on their products. As per the privacy policy, WhatsApp does not save your messages and chats after they are delivered to the other person.

Due to network issues, if the message is not delivered, then WhatsApp stores it up to 30 days in an encrypted form. After 30 days, the undelivered message is automatically deleted from the server. This is a big relief for the billions of WhatsApp users.

Talking about WhatsApp Pay, the company does not save any payment information on the server. Moreover, the shipping information, payment method, account details, as well as transaction amount is not shared with any third-party product.

If you want to continue using WhatsApp, you must accept the new privacy policy. However, if you don’t want to accept the terms, then your only choice is to delete the WhatsApp account. Users who have already accepted the policy will get an additional 30 days to opt-out and delete their account.

Leave a Comment